Learn more about POF

Since I have shared this blog with a few friends and family members to keep them up-to-date on this journey I thought I would share a few links where you can learn more about Premature Ovarian Failure (POF) as most people have probably never even have heard about it before. I know I hadn’t!

I also copied and pasted some sentences or paragraphs from each article that resonated with me personally.

Premature Ovarian Failure via the Mayo Clinic (the official definition)

Premature ovarian failure — also known as primary ovarian insufficiency — refers to a loss of normal function of your ovaries before age 40. If your ovaries fail, they don’t produce normal amounts of the hormone estrogen or release eggs regularly. Infertility is a common result.

Premature Ovarian Failure

As a diagnosis of POF essentially precludes the possibility being able to conceive one’s own genetic child, women and couples coping with this diagnosis often face extreme grief not unlike the death of a spouse or close loved one.

I have Premature Ovarian Failure and this is what it’s like

I spent months enraged over the news. I’d done everything right. I’d gone to school, received an education, I worked, I’d gotten married, and now that I was finally ready to start a family I was slapped with the reality that my best chance for getting pregnant passed me by when I was still in high school. It felt like a sick, cruel joke. I did what I was supposed to do, and I was being punished for it.

April’s Experience with Premature Ovarian Failure

The psychological impact of infertility and its treatment (not specifically about POF but infertility in general)

One study of 200 couples seen consecutively at a fertility clinic, for example, found that half of the women and 15% of the men said that infertility was the most upsetting experience of their lives. Another study of 488 American women who filled out a standard psychological questionnaire before undergoing a stress reduction program concluded that women with infertility felt as anxious or depressed as those diagnosed with cancer, hypertension, or recovering from a heart attack.

Here are a few blogs written by women with POF – some of them who have successfully conceived using their own eggs!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Learn more about POF

  1. I’m so glad you started a blog so we can all easily follow along on your journey. I hate that you and Eric have to experience this but I am crossing my fingers and toes and praying that you are able to conceive! I know that you’ll find some way to become parents, I just wish it wasn’t so much work and money. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

