High FSH

So ever since I was diagnosed back in November 2015, I have known that I have a high FSH level. FSH stands for Follicle Stimulating Hormone and is a very, very important hormone level when it comes to fertility.

If the egg number is low, the body needs to work harder to get ovulation, so it increases the amount of FSH in an effort to push the ovaries. A high FSH means the egg number is reduced, sometimes to levels so low that pregnancy is not possible.

They say that you are supposed to test FSH levels on Cycle Day 3 (aka, the third day after you start having a menstrual cycle) for the most accurate results. I have only had the chance to do two Cycle Day 3 FSH tests in the last year during natural cycles – one in November 2015 and one in August 2016.

Both times my FSH was 34.

Anything over 10 is considered high.

What I’m now learning, is that it is very hard to find a fertility clinic who will proceed with IVF if your FSH is over 20! I did not realize this until I had that devastating doctors appointment last week.

What now?

I am simultaneously researching ways to bring my FSH level down – as some people have done it before with supplements, acupuncture, dietary changes and Chinese herbs – while also trying to find a clinic in Canada that will treat patients with high FSH levels. The one thing I have going for me despite my incredibly bad AMH and FSH numbers is my age. I am only 28. Very, very young to have these types of numbers. That’s why time is of the essence right now.

I did the whole acupuncture / Chinese herbs / supplements thing before and it did not bring my levels down. That said, in the last 6ish months I haven’t had some of the bad symptoms I had my first year with POF like hot flashes and night sweats. I also just had two natural cycles very close together. One in August and one in October. So I am hoping that’s a good sign and means something.

I am still feeling very down and upset. It’s Thanksgiving weekend in Canada and while I had a wonderful weekend with family I also struggled to think about what I am thankful for. Last Thanksgiving I was sure I’d have a baby or be pregnant by now. I no longer feel the same way about next Thanksgiving.

I just started listening to The Art of Waiting on Audible. I have been meditating every morning and I am trying to focus on other things besides infertility. It’s tough though. It’s like this big black shadow or pit in your stomach that is always, always there.

2 thoughts on “High FSH

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this news. For what it is worth, my FSH has fluctuated dramatically — from the 20s to as high as 59 (eek) back down to 7. Having normal cycles and no symptoms certainly seems like a good sign and there are plenty of women out there (myself included) with terrible FSH who have been able to get pregnant. Please don’t give up! It is frustrating to have a doctor refuse to work with you based on that one number – so much more is at play (follicle count, etc.). Thinking of you.

    Like

  2. I really hope that you can find a doctor that is willing to work with and will give you more of a sense of hope. I can completely understand why you’ve been so down since your phone call with that doctor as it’s tough to have that hope taken away. I hope you can gain that sense of hope back, though. I’m thinking of you and praying that the actions you are taking will result in the lowering of your FSH!

    Like

Leave a comment